“The Sudden Disappearance of Miss Take”

Eberhard Faber Miss Take (Short Story)

This promotional package for Eberhard Faber’s circular erasers comes with a story, or rather a short short story: “The Sudden Disappearance of Miss Take.”

Eberhard Faber Miss Take (Cover)

The inside has a cavity with room for one eraser. In this case a No. 6580 Medium, which is for “average use.”

Eberhard Faber Miss Take (Inside)

The travails of Mr. Boss and Miss Doe are as follows:

Eberhard Faber Miss Take Text

Let’s hope Miss Take has learned her lesson, and won’t be showing up again anytime soon.

Eberhard Faber Miss Take

This entry was posted in Pencils, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Sudden Disappearance of Miss Take”

  1. memm says:

    In the movies they keep their guns in those cavities, but an eraser seems a much nicer option.
    My father had one of those when I was a kind, the eraser, not this promotional material. I don’t know which brand, but I never knew how they worked. I assume the rubber was just too old and that’s why it didn’t seem to work at all…
    Thanks for showing us.

    Like

  2. Gunther says:

    What a beautiful item! Thank you for showing. – memm: As far as I know these erasers were generally quite hard and contained glass powder or pumice powder so that they could remove the paper in thin layers.

    Like

    • memm says:

      That’s how it seemed to me at the time, they damaged the paper. Either EF exaggerated in this ad (“…cleanly without injuring this paper”) or EF had a much better typewriter eraser than most competitors.

      Like

  3. I would say “What a beautiful item,” but Gunther already has. Oh, I’ll say it anyway: What a beautiful item! I have such an eraser somewhere, with a green brush attached. I think it was probably already beyond usability when I bought it (as a thing to have, not use).

    Like

Leave a Reply

